Posted in 2016 Releases, Reviews

Sydney Reads and Reviews: Sleeping Giants

25733990Title: Sleeping Giants

Series: Themis Files #1

Publication Date: April 6th, 2016

Publisher: Del Rey

Author: Sylvain Neuvel

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Goodreads page
Amazon
Barnes & Noble

Summary: A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by a quest for truth—and a fight for control of earthshaking power.

My Thoughts:
Ship: 
None
Fave Cinnamon Rolls: Rose, Kara
Needed BROTP: Rose & Kara

Actual Review: Well this book is just one twist after another and it all starts in the first chapter/prologue when Rose falls down a hole and lands in a giant metal hand.

Fast-forward a bunch of years and Rose is now a Physicist with a PhD and is about to start heading a project that involves the giant hand and potential other body pieces that could appear all over the world. Soon Rose is joined by Military Pilots, a French-Canadian Linguist and a Geneticist as they all push forward to figure out just what exactly it is they found and what it means for their world. Of course the first conclusion is

And of course the US Government wants to keep it all hush hush, so the team is off in no man’s land in a bunker with this random body part robot pieces and each other. And this is just the first 20% of it. The book goes in so many different directions that you just don’t see coming but aren’t like punch in gut twists but more of a brain-bending twist that really is a head scratcher. I think it really adds to the story.

Reasons i really liked this book:

1) SCIENCE. Like so much science. There’s weird alien math and big metal things and just SO MUCH FOR SCIENCE NERDS LIKE I AM VERY HAPPY NERD OKAY!
2) Mythology. They bring in mythology into this in a very cool and unique way that’s just AWESOME. I won’t say more because it is spoilerish.
3) Quotes. This book is amazingly descriptive and has some great quotes that really just add to the book.
4) Format. The format is slightly reminiscent of Illuminae except on a toned down scales. It’s lots of interview logs all taken but an anonymous , potentially unreliable, narrator. This does help the story to read quickly plus it’s a fresh way to structure a story.

I am pleasantly intrigued for the rest of the series and grateful that Instagram caused me to pick this up. But it is the case of buying without seeing the cover BECAUSE BUY THE HARDBACK BECAUSE IT HAS A GORGEOUS NAKED COVER I DIN’T KNOW ABOUT.

Advertisements

Author:

23 year old Mechanical Engineer that likes to read a lot in her spare time as well as take pictures of the books she reads.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s