Posted in 2016 Releases, Reviews

Sydney Reads and Reviews: Thirteen Reasons Why

29844228Title: Thirteen Reasons Why

Publication Date: October 18th, 2007 (Original), December 27th, 2016 (Anniversary Edition)

Publisher: Razorbill

Author: Jay Asher

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Goodreads page
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Book Depository

 

Summary: The #1″New York Times”bestseller and modern classic that’s been changing lives for a decade gets a gorgeous revamped cover and special additional content.
“You can’t stop the future.”
“You can’t rewind the past.”
“The only way to learn the secret . . . is to press play.

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker–his classmate and crush–who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah’s voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.
Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah’s pain, and as he follows Hannah’s recorded words throughout his town, what he discovers changes his life forever.”

My Thoughts:
Ship:
 None
Fave Cinnamon Rolls: 
Needed BROTP: Tony x Clay

Actual Review: Reread & review of THirteen Reasons Why completed on January 1st, 2017. THis is my first book started & finished in 2017 and i wouldn’t have it be any other way.

Ten years ago, Jay Asher published his debut and released it into this world.It was a book about a girl who commited suicide and the 13 reasons why she did it. 7 tapes, with 13 reasons recorded upon them are being sent from person to person who caused these reasons. And that is where the story opens up, but first I want to open up on my first experience with Thirteen Reasons Why.

I am an only child and I have never considered suicide. My parents love me and I love them. I’m not a statistic in many of those different surveys, i didn’t drink until i was of age and I did good in school. SO why would a book like this touch me so deeply.

Many years ago, when i was in 9th grade, my Pre-AP English teacher would have a book she recommended sitting on her desk. Now normally it was a Jodi PIcoult or one of those Adult chick lit novels that no teenager would really want to read. But one day, I think near the middle of the first semester, she had this book. It was a debut story, out a little over a year, and I was intrigued that I asked about it. I was able to read the summary on the book and then I went to Borders (RIP) and picked up a copy for myself. And it blew me away.

The message, the writing, the plot, the characters, all of it. This was one of the first books that really challenged me to think deeply. I love many books, but i honestly don’t think there are a lot of books out there that put that kind of challenge to it’s readers. Just think about it, this book is all about how actions affected this girl so much that she chose to end her life. How do you walk away from that and not feel changed? How do you not then go look at your own actions and wonder, can I be better?

Now here I am, almost 9 years later, graduated from college and rereading one of my favorite books of all time. I’ve followed the author avidly, reading his other two releases almost instantly (seriously, i bought these books practically on release day) and now we are at the 10th anniversary of his debut which is also set to be released as a mini-series on Netflix (talk about a hauntingly beautiful TV show. Sign me up). I’m sure i have changed since I was 14/15 and by rereading this story, i’m sure that different things will hit home. There is one large difference in the story. We also have the original ending where Hannah lived. That’s right, Jay Asher originally intended to have Hannah live and grow past the suicide attempt. As i type this review now, I have yet to read the original ending. I will soon, I promise. But first my review for Thirteen Reasons why (yeah I know i finally stopped yapping about myself and got to the story)

Thirteen Reasons Why is a hauntingly beautiful story that I recommend every one read in their teenage years. Why then? Because that is when they are at the most likely to change by reading this. Perhaps they know someone who is like Hannah or Bryce or any of the other characters. Perhaps they’ve already lost a classmate Something like this story could practically spark a revolution in teenagers. Teach them how easily everything affects everything. Maybe it would help and maybe it won’t.

To step into Clay’s world and have not just his story and know how he interacted with Hannah before getting to his tape, but also experience everything from Hannah is positively beautiful. It’s such a simple setting and plot but Asher accomplishes it so beautifully and perfectly.

This book does touch on many mature subjects which could turn many people off, and it doesn’t have any magic or dragons or knights saving damsels in distress but it does have humans and humanity and the fallibiilty that is our world. Which i think makes this book just that more amazing.

I doubt Jay Asher would ever see this review but I just want to thank him for writing this story and all other stories he’s written or will write in the future. While this story isn’t something that saved me from committing suicide or that type of deep and profound change, I honestly don’t know if I would be who I am without this story, like others that have come before and after.

After all, everything affects everything.

Author:

23 year old Mechanical Engineer that likes to read a lot in her spare time as well as take pictures of the books she reads.

Leave a Reply

