Posted in Uncategorized

National Book Lovers Day & Favorite Books

Today is August 9th, and apparently National Book Lovers Day. Well that just pretty dang awesome. Who doesn’t love having a day all about your love of books?

Now if you look on twitter, most of the celebration is around what was a favorite book or a book that got you into reading? Well the latter is a bit easier to answer if you know what you read when you were a kid but the former question is one almost all bibliophiles dread. What is your favorite book? *shudders* Usually it helps if there’s extra detail, like Favorite books read in 2016, also helpful is when the question expands to top 3.

 

So in honor of National Book Lovers Day I am going to post about my favorite books. I’m going to attempt to limit myself to 10 books. All of these books get minimum 5 stars from me, or possibly more.

  1. The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen  Where to even begin with this book, the characters, the plot, the scenery, just everything is beautiful about this book. I was first introduced to this author & this book by a youtuber who was covering for John Green during Paternity leave and he did a video about Magical Realism. I was commuting at the time, got the audiobook from the library and have been in love ever since. Whenever i have been asked for a book rec or my favorite book, TGWCTM has been a go to, always.  And it still is.
  2. The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie
    24790901
    This book was a surprise favorite when I read it in January 2016. I had seen descriptions of it on Tumblr around it’s release and I thought it sounded interesting enough, so I picked it up at B&N and read it in a day. It features Pirates, and engineering sea monsters, a POC LGBT Protagonist, and a kickass Character who’s Author Approved Face Claim is literally Natalie Dormer.
  3. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi
    The Star-Touched Queen (The Star-Touched Queen, #1)

    The Star-Touched Queen was a book I fell in love with the cover first, the summary second, and then the story blew it all out of the water. The details, the scenery, all of it was just gorgeous and it’s one of those books you don’t realize it’s going to change you until you finish it and you literally have that “whoa” moment.

  4. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
    1783852829415084

    This story is what I sometimes wish my High School years could’ve had. An amazing group of friends that yes have problems and drama, but what group of teenage girls doesn’t have that. This Summer read was over 500 pages long and it left me wanting more, more,more.  Even though my life and situation is completely different than Andi’s, I felt it was so easy to relate to her. I absolutely loved this story and would recommend it to anyone.

  5. The Help by Kathryn Stockett
    4667024109660077856358

    This story is one of those that touches you, adjusts your point of view in the world and just stays with you. I fell in love with all the characters and when the movie came out and did it justice, it quickly became a favorite movie too. The ability to show all the perspectives in this story is what puts it over the top.

  6. Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson
    22718701

    If you were to take my interests, all of them, and wrap them up in a book, that book would be Rebel Mechanics. It has magic AND Engineering. Like what could make it any better. Oh maybe a really cool protagonist and the situation she finds herself in.

  7. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
    1217100

    This book is so eerily beautiful and it touches on such a big topic like Suicide. To literally walk through someone’s life and find out how people affected you to lead you to kill yourself is so intense and beautiful and this book is such an amazing debut for a favorite author. I read this in 9th grade, picked up his second book upon it’s release and will read ANYTHING Jay Asher writes.

  8. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

    You can’t have a favorites list without including Harry Potter. You just can’t.If you loved HP in any way shape or form, it needs to always be on your favorites list.

  9. The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey
    2034520222585896

    This is an extremely newer favorite for me, I read it and it’s sequel in the last couple weeks but I still loved it and the fantasy behind it. The multitude of pop culture references, the fantasy and mythology, the group of characters. All of it is just fun and a great read.

  10. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
    23437156

    This book took a couple days after reading it to really hit me and go This is a fave of faves. The characters, the setting, the plot all of it was gripping and made it very hard to put down. Jesper is fave, and Nina is me. I do somewhat wish i had read this after reading the Grisha Trilogy only because THIS WAS TWENTY TIMES BETTER and I felt underwhelmed when reading Shadow and Bone.

To wrap up, I love love LOVE books that have that friendship element as a big key to it. having a sole character who kinda makes friends but not really, isn’t going to stay with me as much.

Author:

23 year old Mechanical Engineer that likes to read a lot in her spare time as well as take pictures of the books she reads.

Leave a Reply

