Posted in Reviews

Sydney Reads and Reviews: The Girl At Midnight

By Melissa Grey

Summary: Magic lives in our darkest corners.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, though if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants…and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

Goodreads page

Amazon (On SALE!)  Barnes & Noble   Book Depository

My Thoughts:
Stars:
 5/5
Ship: 
Dorian & Jasper, Caius & Echo
Fave Cinnamon Rolls:
 JASPER 
Needed BROTP: 
The Squad (Ivy, Jasper, Dorian, Caius & Echo)

Actual Review:

The Girl At Midnight was such a fun and surprising read that I just couldn’t put it down. Echo is one of the most fun protagonists i’ve encountered with all her quirks like referencing Pop Culure and obsession with large and obscure words which adds a fun layer to an already interesting and layered book.

Echo is as human as you or I, but she lives in a world that is unknown to most humans. The world of the Avicen and the Drakharin, whom of course are at a long war with each other, because what great story doesnt have feuding races.

The Girl At Midnight has such beautiful and rich scenery building and the world and magic surrounding it is absolutely breathtaking and i want to continue diving in. I love the attention to detail of the different types of birds that the Avcien can be and how it affects their mannerisms and personality. The Drakharin are extremely similar in that regards as well.

The romance side of it is very subdued and you are unsuer for the first few chapters or so. But then man, the middle of the book hits and BAM there’s a character as flamboyant and perfect as Magnus Bane himself. And he’s mine to protect and keep his plummage clean. SOmehow over the course of this summer, i have found 2 new faves and they are both dark skin, sassy and Gay. And Named Je/asper. Like Seriously, it must be fate.

THe twist near the end is mostly unexpected unless you are one of those people that starts speculating all sorts of things as they read and it can easily be one of those guesses.

I absolutely loved this book and it is definitely going to be another favorite.

I would recommend it for fans of Darker Shade of Magic, A Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and definitely Mortal Instruments because Jasper is literally Magnus Bane except part bird instead of a warlock.

 

Advertisements

Author:

23 year old Mechanical Engineer that likes to read a lot in her spare time as well as take pictures of the books she reads.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s