Posted in Monthly Wrap Up

July Wrap-Up

July has been quite the month for this blogger and surprisingly, a very good one for my TBR Pile & My Goodreads Challenge.

At the beginning of July, I was completing the book that would finish my Goodreads Challenge and here we are 30 days later and my Challenge is not only completed but it is 8 books over.

Over the course of the month of July, I completed 8 books, 1 novella, and reread 2 books for my Sarah Addison Allen Summer ReRead.

Here’s the lineup.

  1. My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, & Jodi Meadows
    5/5 Stars, full of humor and fun, light reading and hilarious characters. Absolutely full of little references to so many pop culture things.
  2. The Island by S. Usher Evans
    4.5/5 Stars. A bit more New Adult then Young Adult then was advertised. Both characters are extremely snarky and it fits well.
  3. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
    10/5 Stars. This book is an absolute delight and a new favorite.
  4. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
    3.5 /5 Stars. While it is not required to read this before Six of Crows, I would actually advise it because it pales so much in comparison to Six of Crows.
  5. The Chasm by S. Usher Evans
    5/5 Stars. A great follow up to The Island with so many more characters to help round out the main 2.
  6. Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson
    Infinte /5. This book is full of magic and science. A perfect blending of steampunk, historical fantasy, and magic. An absolute winner for a ya fantasy lover and Engineering Student like me.
  7. The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien

    Before the Snow: A Stealing Snow Novella by Danielle Paige.
    A lovely little reading that introduces the world setting of her upcoming book that I can’t wait to be published in September.

     

    Sarah Addison Allen Summer ReRead

    On Instagram in June, I was given the idea of rereading all of SAA’s stories over the summer. It seemed feasible as I was getting ready to reread Garden Spells so I could then read the sequel, First Frost. I then decided to continue this month by selecting two more of her stories and I quickly reread The Sugar Queen and The Peach Keeper. Both are fun, magical realism filled stories that are quick, one-sitting stories that exhibit SAA’s amazing writing.

    Reviews to all are posted on my Book Tumblr  -> booksofkings.tumblr.com/tagged/my+reviews

    If you wish, I can begin crossposting them here, but going forward in the future, all my reviews will be posted here.

     

    Until the next time kitkats

    Author:

    23 year old Mechanical Engineer that likes to read a lot in her spare time as well as take pictures of the books she reads.

    Leave a Reply

    