Posted in Book Tags, Rodgers & Hammersteins Book tag

Rodgers & Hammerstein Book Tag: Oklahoma

When scrolling through a post on The Moonlight Library ‘s blog on a Phantom of the Opera book tag, it inspired me to create a Book tag based on the musicals i have loved for a very long time. So thus the Rodgers & Hammerstein’s Book Tag was born. Each week for the next 5 weeks I will post a different musical by R&H, please note this will not cover all of Rodgers & Hammerstein’s musicals but the 5 I am most familiar with.  I am also basing each tag off a specific soundtrack that I will specify each week. Thus let’s begin.

To start us off we will venture down south to Oklahoma featuring the songs off the 1955 soundtrack featuring the vocals of Gordon MacRae & Shirley Jones.

oklahoma-song-1

If there is one series where I feel hard for in the first book, it is the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. I remember picking up the first book at a Hastings in my college town in September, 2015 and practically finished it later that day. I don’t know if I even paid attention to class the next day because I was so entranced by this book. Once I finished, I immediately returned to Hastings and bought the next 2.

oklahoma-song-2

Ah, how do I love thee. let me count the ways. Thy cover is gorgeous with it’s plants and lanterns giving it an ethereal glow that is just so beautiful. The way it has a bit of a creek almost calling you to dive into this story that is just as beautiful and whimsical as the cover.

oklahoma-song-3

I know this is a slightly cliche/old series. But if you really consider this series it was truly ahead of it’s time. This series was what made Dystopian novels popular. It was unique with a great heroine and a love triangle that was easily removable. And sure there’s that liberal blah blah about how society now is reflecting this series but seriously y’all need to take a chill pill or twelve *get it, i made  a joke… wow i’m an idiot*

oklahoma-song-4

There are many books out there that once you pick it up, you just can’t put it down. You just HAVE to keep reading no matter what. And it helps when those books are fast, fun reads that lend themselves to be unputdownable but don’t take 12+ hours to read on top of that. I received P.S. I Like You in my August Fast Times at YA High Owlcrate and quickly saw reviews of just how amazing and fun of a read it was. Highly recommend if you enjoy contemporaries. And i promise, you will probably read it in one sitting too.

oklahoma-song-5

I thought long and hard about what character really pushes to become better and turn over a new leaf. Then it hit me, one of the biggest quotes from The Unexpected Everything is “I could do this. If whole galaxies could change, so could I.” Andie goes through such an amazing character growth and all over the course of one summer that it’s almost awe-inspiring. 

oklahoma-song-6

Is there ever a more perfect description for Mr. Darcy & Elizabeth Bennet? The constant denial of feelings that they have for one another and must do anything to prove otherwise. There’s a reason this book is beloved and a classic.

oklahoma-song-7

Fyi, if you know this song you know it’s one of the weirdest songs in the musical (minus the dream sequence because that’s a whole ball of WTF). Curly has such a shit-eating grin on while singing this that you know he wouldn’t be saddened by Jud’s death. So if there is one death i wasn’t saddened about in a book it’s the King of Adarlan’s in Queen of Shadows.(who i don’t know ever had any other name than King of Adarlan)

oklahoma-song-8

Yes, this is the same book as from earlier and that’s because Morgan Matson created some amazing characters that come to life so easily. Now Mr. Clark Brian McCallister is my ideal book boyfriend. He’s sweet and nerdy and likes to read and is such an adorable puppy. Plus he’s a writer. Like how cool is that? So y’all can have your creepyass ‘misunderstood’ dark characters, I’ll keep my adorable snowflake that probably actually exists somewhere in the world. Now to find him… idiot’s probably stuck in a tree somewhere.

oklahoma-song-11

Now i know that The Alchemists of Loom has only been out a few weeks but there is no better pair of people that start at mutual distaste (or hatred on Arianna’s side) than Arianna the White Wraith and Cverah the Dragon. Through great trials and tribulations (and yeah the ever clear trope) they eventually begin to meet somewhere in the middle.

oklahoma-song-9

Who doesn’t love a good heist? Answer: Kaz Brekker. He doesn’t just love them, he would sell his right arm for them and then heist it back. Kaz Brekker and the Dregs go through so many heists in these books that i’m still winded from all the twists and turns and stress this series gives me.

oklahoma-song-10

Why yes I am featuring another Morgan Matson book, why do you ask? While there are not many books that find the Midwest as their setting, it’s not as boring as you think okay, Morgan Matson’s debut Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour does take a pit stop of a few chapters in Wichita, KS. Which is a quick day trip from my home AND home of the bookstore where I got to meet Sarah J. Maas & get a hug. Rock Chalk!

Author:

25 year old Mechanical Engineer that likes to read a lot in her spare time as well as take pictures of the books she reads.

One thought on “Rodgers & Hammerstein Book Tag: Oklahoma

Leave a comment